top of page

Poncho/Tarp DIY


I have been thinking a lot about tarps lately. Perhaps it's due to the fact that I am waiting on a new tarp to arrive in the mail, or that I have been putting thought in to various tarp-tent setups. Whatever the reason, tarps have been on my mind.

I began thinking about the dual purpose poncho/tarps available, and went on to the thoughts of "I wonder if I could just make my own".

Why DIY? 100% customized, for one. I could make it of any colour or pattern I desire, any size or shape (cat cut, if desired as an example). The other reason is a sense of pride in the gear I carry.

So I began looking online for any advice, patterns, etc. that may assist in this endevour, when it comes time to begin. I came across a fantastic tutorial at http://royrobinson.homestead.com/ponchoplans.html complete with templates and clear instructions.

If you are a DIY gear enthusiast, and ever thought about making your own poncho/tarp, I'm sure you will find this to be of great use.

I am including all of the images from the website, purely as a means to preserve them, and I encourage you to visit the original website for additional information and step by step instruction.

He also has available, plans and pattern for a bug net system that was designed specifically for use with a ponco-tarp system:

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page