top of page

Flinton's Current Set-up

Ever on the quest to reduce pack weight, I have been able to minimalize my gear a great deal.

On our last outting, Hume and I decided to take only a tarp, sleeping bag, knife and cook kit on our second night out. This forced us both to accept that we dont need a lot of our gear, and allowed us to enjoy ourselves far more (due to less pack weight).

After this experiment, I'm not sure I could ever go back to my previous pack set-up (which a lot of people already told me was too little gear).

As you can see, My current pack set up has very little. My sleeping bag, for summer use, consists of an MSS shell and a poncho liner for insulation. In winter months, I would use one or both additional inserts for the MSS.

My current sleeping "pad" is just a sunshade for a truck windshield. It provides NO comfort, but it has proven to provide a good insulating barrier from the ground (in warm seasons), as well as an additional mosture barrier.

From top to bottom, left to right, the gear pictured is as follows:

5'x7' tree pattern camo tarp and 6 titanium stakes in stuff bag, dynamo flashlight, led head lamp with red light option, basic first aid kit (modified for my needs), primary knife with ferro rod, walking stik made from a tripod leg, bug net and paracord in mesh bag, S-biner with a whistle military can opener speedy sharp and 2 tinder coils, aluminum canteen cup pot kit, fuel bottle of methyl hydrate, aluminum pot grabber and Trangia stove, Woodsman's Pal, plastic spork, life straw.

The entire set-up (with full fuel bottle, and pre-filled Trangia stove), including the Woodsman's Pal and knife totals 6.3 kg (13.8 Lbs).

Even though I would like to further reduce my pack weight (easily done by eliminating the Woodsman's Pal, for example), I am currently happy with the results.

I will, however, be replacing the sunshade with an inflatable pool raft. I am aware that they are not ideal for camping, however, they are lighter than most sleeping pads and FAR more affordable. I plan to insert it between the shell of the sleeping bag and the insulating layer. This will prevent it from shifting around under me, as well as providing a bit of protection against punctures. By adding the pool raft, I will also add a basic patch kit into my first aid kit, in the event of a leak during a long outting.

~Flinton

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page