top of page

DIY Reusable Deadfall Trap

A while ago, I had come across some metal figure 4 deadfall traps, and I thought it might be worth adding to my hunt/fish kit of my pack. I wasn't, however, prepaired to pay $60 + shipping for a pack of 5, for something I could make myself for a fraction of the cost.

As time went by, I forgot about the project. I came across a video today, that reminded me of these clever (but over priced) devices, and I set out to make a design template.

The design I came up with is very close to the one on the market.

The assembeled figure 4 will hold the rock/log/etc. approx. 9" high, with the bait approx. 7 1/2" deep under the rock/log/etc., and approx. 2" above the ground. This size should work well for mice, squirrel, etc. The packed length will be approx. 11" long.

The trap, as described in template, is made from 1/8" thick 1/2" wide steel flat stock. It's assembled using 1/4" chicago bolts (with lock-tite in treads), or 1/4" bolts and lock nuts.

The template is to a printable scale, and if no scaling is done when printing

the template should print 100% accurate.

You can download/print the .PDF template HERE

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page